2019 Winner

Announcing the 2019 Award Winner Dr. Thomas Sparks

It is with great pleasure that the Divisions of AGRO, AGFD and the Kansas City Section of the American Chemical Society announce the winner of the 2019 Kenneth A Spencer Award for Food and Agricultural Chemistry.

This year's winner is Dr. Thomas Sparks!  Dr. Sparks wins this award owing to his hard work and a lifetime of commitment to protecting our food supply.  Dr. Sparks started his professional track at Reedley College with an A.S in Science in 1971 followed by his BA in Biology (minor in Chemistry) California State University (Fresno) in 1973.  Tom continued his work at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo until entering the PhD. program at University of California, Riverside where he received his Doctorate in 1978 (Entomology).  Dr. Sparks spent the next eleven years with Louisiana State University rising to the full Professor rank until joining the Dow-Elanco-DuPont and finally the Corteva Team where he currently resides as a Research Fellow and has been known to work his fingers to the bone.

Please congratulate Dr. Sparks for being the winner of the 2019 Kenneth A Spencer Award. 

Learn More

Look for more data to come!.

Find out more

Welcome to the Spencer Award Gallery

You can see that this part is still under construction and the plan is populate this with pictures and information from each year's event.

Find out more